Best in the Desert Daryl Folks awared Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame 2017 Impact Award -

Best in the Desert Daryl Folks awared Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame 2017 Impact Award


LAS VEGAS, NV (OCT. 30th, 2017) – Best in the Desert co-owner Daryl Folks was awarded the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame “Impact Award” at their annual Hall of Fame induction ceremony at the South Point Hotel for his contribution to the sport of off-road racing. Daryl was one of five finalists that was nominated this year for his unrelenting dedication and commitment to the sport not only as co-owner of Best in the Desert but also for his work with Trac-On Trail Rides and the Nevada BLM. Daryl, along with his brother Bryan Folks, assumed the reigns of Best in the Desert after the untimely passing of their father Best in the Desert founder, Casey Folks earlier this year. Under very difficult conditions, the Folks family along with the existing Best in the Desert staff assumed control of the series picking up where Casey left off leading the series to its best year ever. In addition Daryl has been instrumental in working with the BLM and its RAC steering committee helping draft land use policy to the benefit of all off-roaders.

“I’m very honored to have been selected to win this prestigious award,” commented Daryl. “In all honesty however this award belongs equally to my brother and the entire Best in the Desert staff. Without their hard work and dedication none of this would be possible”, Daryl continued. “We are all doing our best to honor the legacy that my father established for Best in the Desert. Our future as a sport is tied to working with land use agencies to help them create land use policy that takes off-road recreation and racing into consideration. Fortunately the current land use managers are receptive to our input so it makes the effort worthwhile.”

The Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame established the “Impact Award” as a way to recognize the next generation of off-road leaders and decision makers to insure that off-road racing remains viable for years to come. Other “Impact Award” finalists included Jimmy Lewis, Wayne Israelsen, Emily Miller and Craig Scanlon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *