Crocker won Whangarei in APRC, Gilmour finished in second among NZ championship -

Crocker won Whangarei in APRC, Gilmour finished in second among NZ championship

Cody Crocker has extended his lead in the FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship(APRC) after finishing second overall in the round three, “Rally of Whangarei” which was taken place from 6-7 June. Crocker took maximum points from the two day event in their Subaru Impreza WRX STI, entered by the Singapore based Motor Image team and prepared and run by the New Zealand based Possum Bourne Motorsport.

“It was a pretty tough weekend,” said Crocker. “The twisty stages suited us better, but there was just too much really fast stuff and Hayden drove really well.”

Crocker, who has won the title for the last three years, will now face his closest rival Katsu Taguchi, who was second in the Asia Pacific part of the event, at his home rally in Hokkaido next month. “The new car is going pretty well, but we’ll have to keep improving things as the season progresses to stay in front,” said Crocker.

This is also standing as round three of New Zealand Rally Championship. Richard Mason led for three quarters of the event and had pulled out a 46 seconds lead over eventual winner, Haiden Paddon when mechanical trouble halted the former double champion’s Subaru on the first afternoon stage of Day 2. That problem has dropped him to second overall in the national championship point’s race after he retired the event.

Emma Gilmour continued her good form, finishing second among the national championship drivers and third in the Asia Pacific event in the second of the Motor Image team’s Subaru to cement third place in both series.
Next round of APRC, round four “Rally Hokkaido” will be taken place from 11-12 July around Obihiro, Hokkaido. Next round of NZRC, round four “Rally Wairarapa” will be taken place from 18-19 July