Tel: 661-262-7171





— List of Almost 80 Entries Includes Legendary Names and

Wide Variety of Historic and Unique Machinery —

JANUARY 9, 2013: With the fourth annual running of the General Tire NORRA Mexican 1000 still about four months away, event officials today announced that nearly 80 entries for the 2013 running of the vintage-themed, on and off-road rally have been made official since registration opened one week ago at noon Pacific Standard Time on New Year’s day. That mark eclipses pre-event registration for the 2012 event my more than 300 percent over the same time last year.

The 2013 Mexican 1000 rally is scheduled from April 27 – May 1, and will once again span the entire Baja peninsula from Mexicali near the U.S. border to San Jose Del Cabo at land’s end.

Certainly the rally’s growing reputation as one of the world’s most enjoyable and accessible motorsports adventures has sparked the enthusiastic response by veteran and rookie racers looking to enjoy the Mexican 1000’s quest to be “The Happiest Race on Earth.” So too has the notion of vintage off-road, rally and hot-rod style machinery finding a new, second life after being prepared to participate in the four-day adventure.

“The entire NORRA organization is thrilled at the enthusiasm being displayed by our returning racers and those new to the Mexican 1000,” stated event founder Mike Pearlman. “At this point, we are well on our way in meeting 2013’s goal of hosting 150 teams at this year’s General Tire NORRA Mexican 1000.”

The entry list for 2013 includes last year’s overall vintage champion Michael Gaughan, as well as such iconic off-road names as Walker Evans, two-time rally champion Bob Gordon, Dave Westhem, Mark McMillin, Jim Smith, Brian Collins, Randy Wilson, Nick Baldwin, Stuart Chase and Cameron Thieriot.

Adding color and mechanical flair to the 2013 rally is a wide variety of machinery being prepared for their debut by enthusiastic owners and race teams. That list includes Thieriot and Kash Vessels teaming up to compete in one of the two unlimited Chevy Blazers originally built by Parnelli Jones and made famous by Kash’s father Frank “Scoop” Vessels as seen by millions on ABC television’s “Wide World of Sports” In addition, Andy Devercelly – a family name made famous in the original NORRA Mexican 1000 off-road races that began in 1967, is restoring a fiberglass Meyers Manx dune buggy for the event. Three-time Mexican 1000 participant Ned Bacon is looking forward to completing his highly anticipated 1974 Porsche 911 rally-style racecar for 2013, while former motorcycle racer Rene Aguirre has entered a 1964 Ford Galaxie. Another famed truck is being resurrected by veteran off-road racer Dana Dague, who is completing work on a 1974 Datsun 620 once campaigned by former factory racer Spencer Low. Low is listed as joining Dague as a co-driver for the rally. Although the spotlight will remain squarely on vintage machinery, NORRA is also hosting a limited number modern prerunners, rugged 4x4s and motorcycles of all types and ages.

According to Pearlman, additional opportunities for participants to enjoy the Mexican 1000 experience will be announced within the next two weeks. Rally organizers will also place more emphasis on media coverage, PR efforts as well as bolstering NORRA’s impressive hospitality at many of the event’s overnight stops that are at the heart of the Mexican 1000 experience.

Known as “The Happiest Race on Earth”, the Mexican 1000 has gained a reputation for bringing fun and a shared sense of adventure back to Baja off-road racing. The four-day, on and off-road rally offers teams high-speed off-road driving with unparalleled views of Mexico’s scenic Baja peninsula, as well as offering new levels of the hospitality and social camaraderie that is the heart of the General Tire Mexican 1000 experience.

For more information on the General Tire NORRA Mexican 1000, visit:


2013 NORRA Mexican 1000 Entry List

(Officially numbered entrants)

007     Joakim Hansson     2010 KTM 530
2     Mark Stahl     1978 Ford F-150
3    Bob Howle     1979 Hi-Jumper Buggy
5     Steve Menzies      2006 Alumi Craft
7     Chris Wilson     1991 Ford Bronco
9     Jayson Walmsley     1981 Ford F-150
10     Mike Higbee     1993 Ford Ranger
13     John Volkman     2012 Husaburg
12     Paul Fournier     1997 Subaru Outback
14     Dave Westhem     1979 GMC K15
16     Andrew Norton      1969 Ford Bronco
18     Logan Holladay     2012 Desert Dynamics
19      Jerry Herbst     1994 Chevy 1500
20     Walker Evans     1978 Dodge D150
21     Michael Gaughan     1977 Dodge Ram
22     Gaylord Smith     1966 VW Baja Bug
25     Marty Fiolka     T.B.D.
26     Boyd Jaynes     1969 Ford Bronco
28     Gary Dixon     1928 Willy’s Whippet
30     Gus Holcomb     2012 KTM 350
32      Matt Parks     1973 Ford F-100
33     Luke Bennett     1973 Honda CB500
38     Bob Land     1989 Jeep Cherokee
46     Dave Sykes     1972 Ford
50     Tom Webber     1992 Ford Bronco
51     Spencer Trenery     2009 KTM 350
55     Adam Ramirez     2012 Moosebuilt Buggy
56     Andy DeVercelly     1967 Manx-VW
61     Bill Conger     2011 Husqvarna TE
66     Jon Kennedy     2006 Toyota
67     Klaus Rasch     1974 VW Sedan
69     Johnny Scheff     2005 Suzuki DRZ400
70     Ron Bellerive     1988 Raceco
74     Ned Bacon     1974 Porsche 911
81     Gary Williams     1996 Protruck
85     Bob Gordon     1985 Chenowth-Toyota
95     Grant Reuter     2011 Ford F-150 Raptor
99     Nick Baldwin     2009 B/C Turtle
100     Jim Smith      2003 All Star Buggy
103     Larry Trim     1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee
109      Stuart Chase     2006 Penhall Buggy
118     Jeff Furrier     1977 Chenowth 1000
123      Mark McMillin     1978 Chenowth-Porsche
129     Rudy Lekar     2006 Alumi Craft
138      Randy Wilson     1992 Ford Ranger
151     Ken Wortman     2012 KTM 500
153     Matt Campbell     2010 Kreger Buggy
155     Cam Thieriot     2004 Custom Buggy
158     Ben Schlimme     Alumi Craft
200      Kash Vessels     1975 Chevy Blazer
462     Butch Jensen     2007 Alumi Craft
484     Jesse Dalton     2000 Honda XR 600
500     Tom Bird     1970 VW Convertible
503     Oscar Rodriquez     1969 VW Bug
555     Rene Aguirre     1964 Ford Galaxie
600     Peter Lang     2004 Custom Truggy
603     Mike Koenig     1990 Toyota Tacoma
609     Rick Johnson     1957 Chevy Belair
617        Rick Gruber      2009 Alumi Craft
619        Jim Riley     1971 Chevy Nova
661        Clint Melenchenko     2001 Chevy Silverado
702 Dana Dague     1974 Datsun Truck
818    John Omartian   1974 El Lobo Buggy
999    Dan Bridger     2003 VW Class 9