Robby Gordon Dominates Baja 500 Qualifying -

Robby Gordon Dominates Baja 500 Qualifying

Robby Gordon will start first off the line for the 2015 SCORE Baja 500. This year qualifying was held in Uruapan instead of Ojos Negros like in years past. We were able to do a lap around the qualifying loop with Roger Norman the day before and see first hand what the racers had in store for themselves. This new course was very technical with lots of hill climbs, off camber turns, silt, and soft washes which in Rogers words were to “Separate the driving skills of the racers”.


With the course degrading more and more after each racer took a practice lap the thought was the drivers in the front would have an advantage before the course went to hell. As in most cases offroad racing isn’t very predictable and the course wearing down actually helped the later drivers giving them more defined lines to follow and tearing out the silt to more hard packed dirt.


Robby Gordon crossed the finish line with the fastest time 10 seconds faster then second place Kyle Leduc driving the #84 Got Milk truck in what will be only his third race in a Trophy Truck. He has big shoes to fill as he has a line of killers behind him with names like McMillin, Voss, Lopez, Menzies, Vildosola and MacCachren, but if his qualifying run shows what to come it won’t be easy for those to catch him.


The Baja 500 course this year is thought to be one of the toughest in years so drivers will have their work cutout for them. While having a good start position is important for this race, it is only one factor in a long line of things needed to be able to be the one to stand on their roof with their hands held high celebrating victory.


Who do you think will take home the win this year?

SCORE TROPHY TRUCK (Unlimited Production Trucks)–
TOP QUALIFIER: 77 Robby Gordon, Charlotte, N.C., Chevy Silverado, 5 minutes, 23.22 seconds (45.67 miles per hour)
2. 84 Nick Vanderwey, Phoenix/Kyle LeDuc, Beaumont, Calif./Curt LeDuc, Cherry Valley, Calif., Chevy Silverado, 5:33.00 (44.32mph)
3. 83 Luke McMillin, El Cajon, Calif., Ford F-150, 5:34.38 (44.14mph)
4. 35 Jason Voss, Cupertino, Calif./Rich Voss, Cupertino, Ford F-150, 5:35.28 (44.02mph)
5. 5 Carlos Lopez, Tecate, Mexico/Clyde Stacy, Bristol, Va./Juan C. Lopez, Tecate, Mexico, Chevy Rally Truck, 5:40.07 (43.40mph)
6. 70 Bryce Menzies, Las Vegas, Ford F-150, 5:40.18 (43.29mph)
7. 44 Kyle Jergensen, Oak Hills, Calif., Chevy Silverado, 5:41.59 (43.21mph)
8. 21 Gus Vildosola Jr, Mexicali, Mexico/Gus Vildosola Sr, Mexicali, Ford Raptor, 5:42.44 (43.10mph)
9. 97 B.J. Baldwin, Las Vegas, Chevy Silverado, 5:43.18 (43.01mph)
10. 2 Jason McNeil, El Cajon, Calif./Kevin Butts, El Cajon, Chevy Silverado, 5:49.20 (42.27mph)
11. 11 Rob MacCachren, Las Vegas, Ford F-150, 5:49.41 (42.24mph)
12. 1 Steven Eugenio, Carlsbad, Calif./Armin Schwarz, Austria (Germany), Chevy C1500, 5:50.32 (42.13mph)
13. 19 Tim Herbst, Las Vegas/Larry Roeseler, Boulevard, Calif., Ford F-150, 5:51.11 (42.04mph)
14. 38 Eric Hustead, St. George, Utah/T.J. Flores, Las Vegas/Todd Romano, Park City, Utah, Ford F-150, 5:52.92 (41.82mph)
15. 17 Eduardo Laguna, Mexicali, Mexico, Chevy Silverado, 5:54.42 (41.65mph)
16. 72 Robert Acer, Wilmington, Dela./Andrew Becerra, W. Covina, Calif., 5:55.02 (41.58mph)
17. 76 Jesse Jones, Phoenix, Ford F-150, 5:56.38 (41.42mph)
18. 23 Dan McMillin, La Mesa, Calif./Chuck Hovey, Escondido, Calif., Ford F-150, 5:58.00 (41.23mph)
19. 85 Justin Davis, Chino Hills, Calif., Chevy Silverado, 6:00.69 (40.92mph)
20. 22 Casey Currie, Norco, Calif./John Currie, Norco, Jeep-Custom, 6:05.46 (40.39mph)
21. 9 Mark Weyhrich, Troutdale, Ore., Ford F-150, 6:08.38 (40.07mph)
22. 50 Zak Langley, Santa Monica, Calif./Rick D. Johnson, Barstow, Calif., Ford F-150, 6:23.52 (38.49mph)
23. 58 Tracy Graf, Canada/Justin Smith, Las Vegas, Ford F-150, 6:27.49 (38.29mph)
24. 36 Glen Greer/, Green Valley, Ariz./Chad Hancock, Green Valley/Thom Greer, Tucson, Ariz., Dodge Ram1500, 6:44.84 (36.46mph)
25. 40 Chris Miller, Santee, Calif., Ford F-150, 7:07.88 (34.50mph)
26. 88 Sergio Salgado, Mexicali, Mexico/Joel Serna/Mexicali, Chevy Silverado, 7:19.08 (33.62mph)
27. 91 Troy Herbst, Las Vegas/Ryan Arciero, Foothill Ranch, Calif., Ford F-150, Did Not Finish
(Remaining start order for non-qualifiers)
28. 45 Gary Magness, Desert Hot Springs, Calif./Devin Housh, Desert Hot Springs, Ford F-150
29. 47 James Bult, Monee, Illinois/Jacob Bult, Sandpoint, Idaho, Ford F-150
30. 75 Mike Cook, Orem, Utah/Todd Pedersen, Orem, Chevy Silverado
31. 99 Lyle Bask, Canada/Ken Evans, Canada, Ford F-150

CLASS 1 (Unlimited single or two-seaters)–
1. 175 Jaime Huerta Jr, Ensenada, Mexico/Jesus Saldana, Ensenada, Racer-Chevy, 5:45.56 (42.71mph)
2. 138 Randy Wilson, Lakewood, Calif./Brian Wilson, Long Beach, Calif./John Herder, Tucson, Ariz., Jimco-Chevy, 5:57.74 (41.26mph)
3. 168 Shelby Reid, Apple Valley, Calif./Darren Ebberts, Corona, Calif., Custom-Chevy, 6:04.70 (40.47mph)
4. 195 Don Chase, La Crescenta, Calif./Travis Chase, La Crescenta, ESM-Ford, 6:21.83 (38.66mph)
5. 100 Cody Parkhouse, Long Beach, Calif./Brian Parkhouse, Long Beach, Jimco-Chevy, 6:23.02 (38.54mph)
6. 104 Rob Archibald, Lakeside, Calif., Jimco-Chevy, 6:30.33 (37.82mph)
7. 125 Scott Rueschenberg, Mesa, Ariz., Tatum-Chevy, 7:02.20 (34.95mph)
8. 109 Tony Murray, Long Beach, Calif./Kyle Murray, Long Beach, Penhall-Chevy, 7:03.44 (34.86mph)
(Remaining start order for non-qualifiers)
9. 114 Lee Mundt, Canada/Mike Ferguson, Canada, ESM-Ford
10. 123 Monica Greenhill/David Greenhill/Mike Greenhill, Burleson, Texas, Jimco-Chevy
11. 128 Brent Parkhouse, Long Beach, Calif./Chuck Sacks, Canyon Country, Calif./Matt Cullen, Long Beach, Calif., Jimco-Chevy
12. 131 George Peters, Newbury Park, Calif./Luke Babb, Encinitas, Calif., Racer-Chevy
13. 145 Mike Boone, Garden Grove, Calif./Mark Workentine, Fresno, Calif., WickedCreations-Chevy
14. 147 Pat McCarthy, Hermosa Beach, Calif./Nick De Avilla, Hermosa Beach/Robert Morgan, Torrance, Calif., Jimco-Chevy
15. 156 Thomas Kirkmeyer, Apple Valley, Calif./Richard Boyle, Ridgecrest, Calif., Custom-Chevy
16. 160 Victor Barreda, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico/Juan Cota, Cabo San Lucas, Jimco-Chevy
17. 166 Brady Turner, Imperial, Calif./Mark Cowan, Imperial, Jimco-Chevy
18. 169 Andrew Myers, San Marcos, Calif./Dan Myers, Costa Mesa, Calif., Jimco-Chevy
19. 177 Martin Hoffman, Capistrano Beach, Calif./Brian Coats, Huntington Beach, Calif., Custom-Chevy
20. 187 Ryan Sharman, Phoenix/Paul Sharman, Phoenix, Tatum-Chevy

Photos by Jason Zindroski of HighRev Photography


  1. Roger Norman was right about the qualifying course separating the good drivers from the bad. Robby Gordon crushes everyone and Ryan Arciero finished last. There you have it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *