SCORE Toyota Milestone Update 5.14.10

May 14, 2010

In 10 Pro Classes

25 SCORE racers remain in hunt for Toyota Milestone Awards

Heading into 42nd Annual Tecate SCORE Baja 500 desert race

Nearly 300 entries expected in Ensenada for 2010 SCORE Desert Series race June 3-6

LOS ANGELES—Following the second of five races in the 2010 SCORE Desert Series, 25 of SCORE’s toughest drivers remain in the hunt to earn 2010 SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards.

Leading the way are five racers in the featured SCORE Trophy-Truck division along with six in Class 1-2/1600 for 1600cc VW-powered open-wheelers and five racers in SCORE Lite.

The five SCORE Trophy-Truck drivers who have completed every race mile so far this season are: Andy McMillin, National City, Calif. (Ford F-150), Jesse Jones, Litchfield Park, Ariz. (Ford F-150), Kory Scheeler, Las Vegas (Ford F-150), Rob MacCachren, Las Vegas (Ford F-150) and Nick Vanderwey, Phoenix (Chevy Silverado).

Nearly entries are expected to compete in 28 Pro and 6 Sportsman classes for cars, trucks, motorcycles and ATVs in the upcoming 42nd Tecate SCORE Baja 500. Round 3 of the five-race 2010 SCORE Desert Series will be held June 3-6 in Ensenada, Mexico.

Pre-running on the 440-mile course will officially begin on next Saturday, May 22.

Toyota is presenting these prestigious awards to the world’s toughest desert racers for the 25th consecutive year. The Toyota Milestone awards will go to those pro car and truck drivers who finish every required mile in the five-race 2010 SCORE Desert Series, the World’s Foremost Desert Racing Series.

“Toyota is proud to honor the world’s best desert racing drivers,” said Les Unger, national motorsports manager at Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A. “For a quarter of a century, Toyota has had the privilege of presenting the SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards to the toughest racers on the planet.”

Racers from at least 26 U.S. States, Austria, Canada, Denmark, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan and Mexico have entered in this year’s Tecate SCORE Baja 500.

The loop race will start and finish on Boulevard Costero in front of the historic Riviera del Pacifico Cultural Center adjacent to the Bahia de Todos Santos in the heart of Ensenada. Over 150,000 spectators are expected to line the race route which covers much of the northern part of Mexico’s Baja California peninsula.  On Saturday, June 5, Motorcycles and ATVs will start first in the elapsed-time race at 6 a.m. followed by the cars and trucks at 10 a.m.

2010 SCORE Toyota Milestone Awards

(25 Racers completed every required mile after two rounds in the five-race 2010 SCORE Desert Series)

SCORE Trophy-Truck

Andy McMillin

Jesse Jones

Kory Scheeler

Rob MacCachren

Nick Vanderwey

Class 1

Daniel McMillin

Kory Halopoff

Class 1-2/1600

Cody Robinson

Luke McMillin

Hiram Duran

Kyle Conlon

Rob Archibald

Arturo Velazco

Class 5

Kevin Carr

Class 6

David Caspino

Heidi Steele

Class 7SX

Elias Hanna

Class 8

Juan C. Lopez

Class 10

Mike Lawrence


Brent Parkhouse

Justin Davis

Lee Banning

Dave Calloway

Samuel Araiza

Stock Full

Joe Bacal