Shannon Rentsch and Daymon Stokie Win 2017 Tatts FINKE Desert Race


The Victorian son and father duo of Shannon and Ian Rentsch (#33 Jimco Nissan 3500cc) have become five time winners of Australia’s greatest desert classic following victory today in the 2017 Tatts Finke Desert Race.

Previous winners in 2005, 2006, 2014, and 2015, their fifth victory came in a time of 3 hours 42 minutes 40.9 seconds, after leaving the overnight stop at Finke in second position.

They now join an exclusive club of five time Finke Desert Race winners along with David Fellows (2001, 2004, 2008, 2009, 2010) and Mark Burrows (1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003).

In first place on the run down to Finke had been Travis Robinson/Trent Anthony (#13 Jimco OBR Nissan 3500cc) but their hopes of a Finke victory were shattered when their run home came to an end between the Rodinga and Deep Well checkpoints with a reported power steering issue.

On the second step of the podium today was Beau Robinson/Shane Hutt (#413 Geiser Brothers Trophy Truck Chev 6000cc) who improved on his position of third in 2016.

Beau Robinson started third out of Finke this morning. His overall time was 3 hours 45 minutes and 58.4 seconds.

Filling the final place on the podium in third today was Jack Rhodes/David Pulino (#1 Jimco Aussie Special Nissan 3500cc) in a time of 3 hours 50 minutes 56.7 seconds.

Fourth, fifth, and sixth positions were taken by Michael Marson/Chris Colborne (#32 Racer Engineering 2012 Ford 6000cc), Steven Sanderson/Tahlia O’Cass (#3 Jimco Trophy Truck KRE 6000cc), and Andrew Mowles/Matthew Morgan (#135 Razorback 2010 Nissan 3500cc).

In an impressive seventh place was American off-road star Harley Letner/Luke Ayers (#59 Tatum 2005 Chev 6000cc).

Other notable non finishers were 2102 winner Brad Gallard/Scott Modistach (#454 Geiser Trophy Truck Chev 6000cc), 2007/2013 winner Hayden Bentley/James Coe (#418 Racer


Alice Springs rider Daymon Stokie was today crowned “King of the Desert’, winning the 2017 Tatts Finke Desert Race.

Stokie won the two day gruelling affair with a time of 4 hours 11 minutes 12.5 seconds on his Yamaha WR500F, marking the manufacturer’s first Finke win since 1986.

The battle for second was a nail-biting affair between South Australian Ivan Long (#X99 Husqvarna FE450) and Alice Springs competitor Luke Hayes (#6 KTM EXC500).

Long had finished fifth on the road at the overnight stop at Finke after blowing a tyre yesterday, but rode brilliantly today to make the podium.

Long’s total race time 4 hours 15minutes 7 seconds, with Hayes completing the 452 kilometre race distance in a time of  4 hours 15 minutes 38.1 seconds.

The change in position between the second and third podium riders took place between the Deep Well checkpoint and the Alice Springs finish.

The hard luck story of the bike field belonged to Alice Springs rider David Walsh (#3 KT EXC500) who held a 5minute 45.1 second lead over eventual winner Stokie at the overnight stop.

Sadly Walsh’s race today was over barely after it started with mechanical problems occurring just 10kilometres from the Finke start.