Starting Spots Are Set For The 2018 King Of The Hammers

Friday morning chaos will ensue when 96 of the best Ultra 4 Racers take the green flag for an intense day of racing at the Nitto King of the Hammers Powered by Optima Batteries. Today racers battled a short but challenging qualifying loop to decide where they would start on race day and it was Paul Horschel who laid down a 1:46:41 lap, and will now start on the pole with clean air in front of him.

Last years top qualifier Jason Scherer was less then a second behind Horschel and he will line up against fellow former King Loren Healy in his car dubbed “The Red Dragon”. Greg Adler and Levi Shirley will start side by side in the next row rounding out the top 5 qualifiers

King of the Hammers Top 10 Qualifiers
1. Paul Herschel – 1:46:41
2. Jason Scherer – 1:47:23
3. Loren Healy – 1:48:46
4. Greg Adler – 1:48:54
5. Levi Shirley – 1:48:93
6. Shannon Campbell – 1:50:13
7. Randy Slawson – 1:50:17
8. Clay Gilstrap – 1:50:25
9. Casey Currie – 1:50:76
10. Erik Miller – 1:51:89

There are multiple ways you can get into the King of the Hammers race, all past winners and the original OG’s from the first KOH are grandfathered in. Another way is by competing in other Ultra 4 races during the year and based on performance you get a spot as well. The last way and which has to be the most stressful is by qualifying in the LCQ. Only 5 spots were given to racers from the LCQ which means that 9 racers were forced to go home and try again next year.

Remember you can watch all the action during the week by checking out 2018 King of the Hammers Live.

Photos by Jason Zindroski of HighRev Photography