Riverside, California (January 22, 2013) – Stronghold Motorsports was named “Team of the Year” while ProLite Champion, RJ Anderson received  “Driver of the Year” honors and Crew Chief Nick Griner was acknowledged as “Mechanic of the Year” at the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series 2012 Season Championship awards banquet  on Saturday, January 19th.  Anderson also collected his 2012 ProLite truck championship trophy along with the dubious award for “Crash of the Year” which recounted his spectacular impact with Casey Currie while charging for the lead in the Lucas Oil Challenge Cup season finale.

Stronghold Team banquet 2013
The 2012 “Team of the Year”

Distinguished as “Team of the Year” for the second consecutive season, Stronghold Motorsports received recognition for the immense effort of fielding eight vehicles throughout the season as the team captured nineteen podium results along with Anderson’s ProLite title. For Nick Griner, whose tireless efforts on the Stronghold race fleet throughout the year earned him the appreciation of this peers, the award for “Mechanic of the Year” represented his hands-on contribution to the performance of each one of the team’s results throughout the season. 

Nick Griner mechanic of the year
Nick Griner receiving the award for 2012 Mechanic of the Year


At just nineteen years old, Anderson became the youngest professional champion in series history with an impressive season that included five ProLite victories among his ten trips to the podium in the sports largest field. Saturday evening, the off road racing prodigy received the prestigious distinction of becoming the youngest driver to be recognized as the “Driver of the Year” in the storied history of short course off road racing.

rj and trophy
RJ Anderson 2012 ProLite Champion & Driver of the Year

In acknowledging the support he received during the season and throughout his burgeoning off road racing career, Anderson invited his parents, Randy and Carol Anderson, off road legend, Walker Evans, Stronghold Motorsports managing partner, Scott Bailey, engine builder and friend, Kevin Kroyer along with crew members Nick Griner and Steve Drew onto the stage to share the moment alongside him as he accepted the award.  “There is no way I could possibly put this evening into words. To receive this honor from my fellow drivers and competitors means more to me than anyone could ever know. There are so many people that have believed in me and supported this program and without them, none of this would have been possible. This has been a dream season to say the least. ”


RJ and family
From Left to Right: Steve Drew, Walker Evans, RJ Anderson, Kevin Kroyer, Mr. & Mrs. Anderson, Nick Griner, and Scott Bailey
RJ crash
RJ Anderson’s 2012 “Crash of the Year”


Stronghold Motorsports would like to extend our gratitude and appreciation to all of our partners, sponsors, volunteers, crew members and fans that support our program who make it possible for us to compete at the highest level of short course off road racing. We look forward to a successful and exciting 2013 season.


The 2012 Stronghold Motorsports Monster Energy Off Road Racing Team


Jeremy McGrath (Toyo Tires)


Cameron Steele (Yokohama Tires)


RJ Anderson (Goodyear Tires)


The 2012 Stronghold Tires Team


Jeremy “Twitch” Stenberg (Toyo Tires)


Matt Cook (Toyo Tires)


Brandon Bailey (Toyo Tires)


Garrett Poelman (Toyo Tires)


Larry Job (Toyo Tires)



Media Inquiries: Please contact Patrick Wagenbrenner –[email protected]



Stronghold Motorsports is Sponsored by:

 Monster Energy ··

 Lucas Oil Products · Loctite  · Walker Evans Racing ·  Horizon Hobby/Team LOSI Racing · E3 Sparkplugs · AngryBikes ·  Polaris ORV · South Point Hotel Casino · Toyo Tires (Jeremy McGrath/Jeremy “Twitch” Stenberg/Matt Cook/Brandon Bailey)· Yokohma Tires  (Cameron Steele) · Goodyear Tires (RJ Anderson) · ProAm Racing Products · Fox Shox · Motive Gear ·  Fiberwerx · Makita Power Tools ·  MSD Ignition · Dart · K&N Filters · Magnaflow · Sign Pro’s · Power Steering Solutions · Corona Motorhome Rentals · VP Racing Fuels · Eibach Springs · Spy Optic · Roush Yates Engines · GoPro · Alpinestars · KCHiLites · Oakley (RJ Anderson) ·