Limit the amount of riders per team @ SCORE?

Chainguide

Reaction
I have been racing SCORE off and on since 1974. Back then you were only allowed 2 riders per bike team. For instance for the 1000, it was basically a quick discussion of " OK, I'll do the start and hand it off to you half way and you do the finish" Fast forward to present times and you'll see as many as 6 guys on one team doing the SF 250. I bring this up as I am watching the number of bike entries dwindling drastically over the years. I think back at the 2008 500 we had as many as 150 moto teams entered and at this past Baja 500, we only had around 15 bike teams. I realize that this could be attributed to many factors such as COVID, The Economy, The price of entry fees, The beat up courses, etc. I also think that with the current lesser amount of teams per class, that some teams are thinking why bother when there is only 1 or 2 teams or even no other teams to race against. I hate seeing this decline of entries in the moto classes so I want to float this trial balloon. What if SCORE lowered their entry fees a decent bit, but also limited the amount of teammates per moto entry? For instance the SF 250 would be limited to 2 riders, the Baja 400 & 500 would be limited to 3 riders and the Baja 1000 would be limited to 4 riders. This might accomplish a few things that would be good for the sport. It would encourage more entries as the 6 guys that were on one bike team at the SF 250 may end up forming 3 teams of 2 instead of 1 team of 6. This might also help eliminate the posers with the big wallets who buy teams and claim to be a Baja Champion, but only ride about 20 feet at the start and then hand off to the real racers to do the heavy lifting. If this does initially increase the the amount of entries, then hopefully it will encourage others to race as it becomes a bigger deal again. So what are your thoughts? Comments? Flame on.

Rslhc

Reaction